View RSS Feed


Bushido: Alterations to Pendragon 5.1 for samurai games. (Pt. 3)

Rate this Entry
Just like with Chivalrous knights, Bushi are held to their own standard of right behavior. To become a legend of the way of the warrior, it is not enough simply to be an honorable samurai, but to uphold the tenets of Bushido in word and action. The following six virtues have been selected to represent Bushido. A samurai who holds a total of 80 between these six values gains 100 Glory a year and the listed bonus.

Bushido: Energetic, Just, Honest, Valorous, Modest, Vengeful.
A samurai must not only always be ready and vigilant, but he must also exercise good and fair judgment, hold true to his word and oaths, fight and die courageously, live unpresumptuously at his lord's behest, and avenge his kin and his lord with swiftness.
Bonus: +3 Armor of Chivalry. A samurai fights on behalf of his lord against all pain or injury.

As with normal Pendragon, those who champion a faith (16+ in all its virtues) are rewarded (100 Glory a year and a small bonus listed with the religion). Japan is famously homogeneous during the Sakoku policy enforcement, however, so there is even less variation than in Pendragon's Britain. Two main faiths are present, though others exist in smaller quantity and with variation. Upon request, I will provide my interpretation of the virtues of other faiths, though I have admittedly limited knowledge of non-Western religion.

Bukkyō (Buddhism): Chaste, Generous, Pious, Modest, Temperate.
Buddhists seek an end to the suffering-by-way-of-desire they see present in everyday life. To escape this cycle, they follow an "eightfold path" towards enlightenment that will rid themselves of the dissatisfaction merely material life brings.
Bonus: +6 HP.

Shintō: Energetic, Honest, Modest, Worldly, Prudent.
Shintō holds an animistic perspective on the world, seeing the kami or gods as present in different parts of the natural world. Although they are quick to accept some aspects of other faiths, they hold fairly universally that the Emperor is a descendant of Amaterasu, the sun goddess.
Bonus: +2 Healing Rate.

Non-combat Skills (only those removed or altered from Pendragon):

  • Courtesy (Knowledge, Knightly): Also covers chanoyu, the Japanese tea ceremony.
  • Faerie Lore (Knowledge): Change to Kami Lore (Knowledge): This is the art of knowing about and identifying and avoiding trouble with kami, the local gods, monsters, and spirits.
  • Folk-Lore (Knowledge): Change to (Non-Bushi). Very rarely will samurai seek out knowledge of how the commoners live, less they dull their martial prowess.
  • Heraldry (Knightly): Roll into Recognize.
  • Read (Knightly): Removed. Only used for foreign languages and therefore covered under Gaijin Lore. Samurai are expected to be literate. Code falls under Intrigue.
  • Recognize (Knightly): Change to (Knowledge, Bushi). Gains all of Heraldry's scope, as well as knowledge on personal genealogy.
  • Romance (Knightly): Removed. Romance has no court in Japan, and Romantic samurai gain no additional bonuses. This does not mean that passionate love does not exist, just that it is not honored in Romantic fashion.
  • Tourney (Knightly): Replace with Dueling (Bushi), which covers dueling procedures and other martial art procedures. This necessarily includes seppuku.

  • Gaijin Lore (Knowledge) [Subtype]: Covers anything from Portuguese science to Chinese geography not commonly known to Japan.
  • History (Knowledge, Knightly): Important knowledge about Japan, as well as regional information. For region-specific information, +10 bonus for one's hometown or personally lived area, +5 bonus for one's own home region, -5 to any region one has never been physically present in. Recognize covers genealogical knowledge.
  • Sumi-e (Knightly): Covers things such as calligraphy and painting, separate from Compose.

Updated 04-07-2019 at 09:07 PM by DarkisnotEvil (Edit to tags)