Thread: Random Town Generator

1. Default Random Town Generator

Dear Tangled Web community,

Hi! I found this site by way of a friend, when I was interested in playing D&D online with some old college friends.

A while back (I guess 4 years? Wow), I wrote an online random town generator to help streamline town roleplaying a bit. At the time, it didn't enjoy much popularity, because many people did not have laptops with wireless internet to bring to the gaming table to use the tool (it is online only...but at least it works on all OSes ). It didn't take long after thinking about playing online, that I realized "if people are playing online...the DM is online...so the DM has access to the internet...so s/he can use my generator!" So, I want to make this community aware of the tool I have made.

Here's the link:
    http://www.mathemagician.net/town.html

Features:
    A) Completely free. I make enough money as a grad student, I don't need your stinking money (ha!)
    B) Complete breakdown of the members of every class in the city (standard 3.5 D&D rules)
    C) Complete breakdown of all Blacksmiths, Jewelry stores, general stores, magic stores, and taverns in the city.
    D) This feature just came about a few weeks ago when I finally got my lazy butt around to updating it. The Town Generator now "remembers" your town, supposing you type in the exact name and provide the exact same racial demographics. So if you suspect you will want to use the town again, it's best to jot down the name of it and the demographics you used.
    ---