View RSS Feed

DarkisnotEvil

Bastards and Bloodlines: Variant Inheritance Rules for 5E. Pt 1- Heavy Lies the Crown

Rate this Entry
Bastards and Bloodlines: Variant Inheritance Rules for 5E. Pt 1- Heavy Lies the Crown (Version 1.0)

I was a lord by birth, my father told me. A king's heart beat in me- and if only I could grow strong enough, I could return and take back what was mine. There were times I considered my father insane- until one day I came across the treasures he had hidden. He was a bard by trade, and we made next to no money, just enough for the two of us to get by. But here was gold and scrolls and rings he had never sold. When I asked him about it, he told me they were my mother's and grandfather's. He told me he was the husband of a Princess of a nation that no longer existed, that my grandfather was struck down in battle with a devil and monsters that looked like men. He had been entrusted with my safety, with my mother's safety, but she had died of a broken heart once she knew that I was safe- the strain of losing her father, her family in one stroke was too much to her after the toll of the journey.

I asked him why we had never gone to my mother's friends, and he told me that if any man knew of my true heritage, the men that had taken the kingdom would come to kill me. I lived not only for myself and my father any more. Now, the burden of a king was mine. I grew strong, and wise. Most women and many men were taken by my appearance, a fact that would eventually be my undoing- I was recognizable. I became aware of a man following us in dark robes. He pursued us for about a week, though he never attempted anything. It was only at the end of his time following us why I realized he was behaving so.