photo eliteArrayBanner1.jpg
View RSS Feed

Observations from the Deep Ethereal

On Class Design and how to Limit Optimization (or why the Fighter Sucks)

Rating: 3 votes, 3.33 average.
Yes. You read that right. Let me explain.

PCs are going to play a class throughout their entire progression, and you can't really change it (barring rebuilding, of course, but that's a whole other bag, and admits that the [insert class here] sucks). This means that their choice is pretty much set--if you've got X levels in class X, you're going to have that many levels in class X until you roll a new character. And the Fighter sucks. No, I'm not even talking about its power, since you can build a really powerful fighter if you go dumpster-diving through feats. The part about it that sucks is that it's a complete newbie trap. Let's take two examples to illustrate this.

First, the cleric. They don't really have much in the way of class abilities apart from their spells and Turn Undead. So a newbie looks over the spells, and thinks to themselves, "Hey--Hide from Undead! That sounds really cool. I think I'll prepare that. And while I'm at it, Remove Fear and Curse Water look awesome as well! Let's go with those." Thus, the first combat occurs, and he finds his spells relatively useless. So the next day, he looks over his spells left, and switches them for things that are better. And every "day" in-game he can look over the spells he has access to, trying different ones, and keeping the ones that were effective in combat while discarding those that weren't.