View RSS Feed

elan

Playing a wizard, part 1

Rate this Entry
Hello everybody,

I'm Alen and I've been playing D&D for more than 10 years now. I love character optimization (within reasonable limits of not trying to break the game). This is my first ever blog written, so I hope it's not too bad.

Chapter 1: Basics about my favorite class

I'm going to write about my favorite class: wizard. Highly fragile and in constant need of protection at lower levels, a character progressing through wizard levels eventually grows to be among the most powerful members of the party, if not the most powerful one.
In combat, wizard's spell selection determines his role: buffer, debuffer, damager or controller (examples of such spells will be covered later, when I go into detail about schools of magic).

Buffing spells are a good choice because they increase your party's combat effectiveness without chance of negating the effect by overcoming your save DC, although they can be dispelled, in which case high caster level helps. Most of the buffing spells are abjurations and transmutations, but there are some in evocation, divination and the other schools.

Debuffing spells are great for softening up tough opponents once you determine their weak spot(s). There is usually at least one among the following: low reflex, fortitude, or will saving throw, touch AC, ability score or skill check modifier. Focusing on that weakness can swiftly bring a tough opponent on its knees (quite literaly). They can also be effective against larger groups of enemies with the same weakness. Most of the debuffing spells come from the schools of necromancy and transmutation and some from enchantment.